Apple TV & Netflix

One of the best investments I’ve made in the past six months is probably my Apple TV. It’s basically a magical black box that streams content from the iTunes, Vimeo, YouTube and Air Play compatible devices, to your TV via HDMI cable. Not only does it make watching a video someone just emailed a whole lot easier but it also allows you to control it using your iOS device. Pretty rad won’t you say?! 

Words from southern Californian surf dramas aside and little black boxes of possibilities aside, what I really wanted to talk about was Netflix. I forgot to cancel my membership in September after my free 30 day trial ended and hadn’t regretted it after a spell of dormancy. Why? It has all sorts of interesting documentaries to watch, I pretty much find a different one each night -mainly ones I haven’t seen before, when I’m not with my lady (as we seem to watch a Tyler Perry romcom -her choice of course).

I believe that documentaries give you a great insight into subjects that you wouldn’t otherwise read about in book, I lose my concentration quite easily. At least with a documentary it’s pretty much someone’s dissertation with lots more first person accounts and archive footage to keep you occupied. Without further adieu, here’s my list of my most recent 4/5avg ratings…

  1. Marley
  2. Marvin Gaye: What’s Going On
  3. Vegucated
  4. Fela: Music Is The Weapon
  5. Mr. Untouchable
  6. Pinero
  7. Bling
  8. Forks Over Knives

Approach with caution because in the case of Vegucated, I witnessed some archive footage of diary farms and slaughter houses that put me off any animal based products for 22 hours. When I say ‘put me off’, I really mean to admit that I attempted to become a Vegan until I was sat across from my girlfriend in Chiquito’s who has the sweetest looking beef burger whilst I ordered… wait for it… A BEAAAAN burger!!! A bean burger that tasted so bleeeding savoury that I just couldn’t do it. It was at that point that I realised that I should A. Cut down on all the animal produce I consume and B. Eat more whole foods and be mindful of where your animal produce comes from -if and when you choose to consume any in MODERATION.

I really hope you get as much joy out of your subscription as I do, I also hope my choices affect you reflectively as they did me. Feel free to share some of your favourites and your opinions in the comment sections.

Peace

Leave a Reply

