Marie Dahlstrom & Marie Sane – Love Song

When I heard the original I loved it, for something so simple I liked it, I connected… and trust me, that’s not something I say often about contemporary pop songs, especially those sung by Rihanna. No disrespect, there’s a lot of catchy songs but this was a kinda special cut -not something I’d buy but if it was played around me I didn’t complain. The video featured in this post is a cover of said song. Usually I’m never a fan of covers but I feel that there are some I cannot deny, especially those composed by Marie Dahlstrom -protagonist of the Scandinavian Soul movement in London.

For this latest soulful makeover, Marie D recruits the vocal talents of fellow vocal namesake, Marie Sane who create something beautifully chilled, soulful, dreamy and chordilicious. This is the epitome of undeniable, jazz influenced subtlety that contemporary pop music is missing.

Leave a Reply

