Animistics – Tin Head/I Walk Away

What happens when the weather is rather grim, you’ve completed what you deem to be one of the most productive gym sessions of the year, external parties sabotage your plans for the day and you receive an email from someone who mistakenly thinks your name is Marcus?

Well you reply sarcastically, ensuring to set the record straight because your name isn’t Marcus it’s something far more illustrious -Khalid Omari, and you go back to listening to Sir Mikey Rocks’ mixtape Premier Politics 1.5 whilst you jump in the shower. Once you feel all fresh, clean and pimpish you go to your desk and click on the link, not sure what you’ll find when clicking the link. Maybe it’ll be something generic, maybe it’ll be something that you’d regret listening to, maybe just maybe it’ll be a gem beneath a cloak of making an error when sending out an email…

To my amazement I discover something that is CLEAN, the mix down on Tin Head is simply to die for. It’s a well thought out arrangement that gradually builds momentum as if Lee Eden is narrating screenplay. The whole process can be likened to the boiling of a kettle, the transition from intro to drop is paced to perfection but even after the drop takes place Eden has paid great attention to the intricate subtleties to ensure the looped segment of the rhythm remains fresh. For someone who says that Tin Head is their first foray into UK Funky territory, I really find it hard to believe because it’s on point. Eden hit the nail on the head with the drums which remind me of the Apple’s UK Funk track Mr. Bean or better yet Siegalizer VIP, the smooth tremolo on the electric keyboard and rolling bassline are all things that had me imagining what this would sound like in a rave when one is yakked up on the rocket fuel… Basically I’d be making shapes to this.

The thing about music is that it’s often categorised to its detriment and a lot of the time I have no idea what all these new categories are, I Walk Away is exactly that. Upon first hearing it, I instantly put it in the Funky Dubstep box. It a swung drum rhythm, it had the lush pads, heavy basslines and the modulated synth lead which I fell in love with because I’m also a fan of producers such as Silkie, Swindle and Mr. Mitch who all blur the perception lines of Grime, Garage, Dubstep and Electronica Funk. What makes this track fall into a ‘Future Garage‘ box is the vocal snippets, reminiscent of the great producers who carved the foundations of the sound in the mid to late ’90s.

What I love about Lee Eden is that his sound is versatile, timeless and clean. It’s not just music you’d opt to listen to whilst raving it up, but you can actually listen to this music when you want to chill out. I have no idea how he managed to create such a beautiful juxtaposition of musical application and moods but I somehow feel that his music’s versatility has something to do with the way in which he mixes and arranges his songs. I look forward to hearing more, I look forward to release dates, and I look forward to hearing these tracks when I’m out on the lash… Spread the word.

Soundcloud | Animistics | Facebook

Leave a Reply

