Up In The Ear #1- One Foul Swoop (Podcast)

As many or some of you may know, I am no new comer to turntables and vinyl -having embraced the Hip Hop culture through my Father and the many Public Enemy tour videos we watched to the countless times I watched Beat Street and tried to backspin on the kitchen floor, I grew up on a healthy diet of Reggae, Roots, Motown Soul and Dub, so it was no surprise that I fell in love with Jungle in the early ’90s and got infected with the UK Garage bug after hearing a few tracks in ’97. Following in the footsteps of my older sibling, I began to work my way around the turntables and vinyl whilst he was at work -making sure everything was back in its place when he got home, I honed my skills and gradually picked up the mic in time for the monstrous metamorphosis of Garage into Grime. After much time spent in the wilderness of music production and songwriting, I rediscovered House music, started building an extensive collection of vinyl -both old and new- and ventured into unchartered listening territory. Fast forward half a decade and I’m pretty much an amalgamation of all these influences and sub cultures…

I love nothing more than listening to, discussing, and creating music. It’s always a pleasure to share sounds that I’ve discovered through the blog but I decided it was time that I upped the ante and hit you with a new medium for sharing what I’ve been listening to and discovered. I’m actively seeking out new sounds as well as classic ones, could say I’m scouting for future greatness to support so if you have something to share, please don’t hesitate to send a download link with some info to the email at the bottom of the page.

Up In The Ear #1 – One Foul Swoop

This mix features the sounds of my fave new discovery ::Made:In:Heights::, Seiji from the supergroup Bugz In The Attic, Juicy J and Lex Luger, Jay-Z and Kanye West, Project Pat, Submerse, CRST, TRC, Preditah, Manga, Trim, Kwod Sonik Punk, Louie Vega, Todd Edwards, and a few rough unfinished exclusive edits from myself under my alias MRKOZOID.

I hope you enjoy the first dose of my ‘yet to be put into a regular schedule’ radio show to accompany the blog. If you’ve got tracks to submit, send me a download link and if I like it I’ll give it a spin.

@UpInTheEar | @WhereIsKO | Mixcloud | Soundcloud

Leave a Reply

