Tech #1 – Battle of The Novation 49 Keys: SL MKII or Impulse?

When the SLMKII came out, I wanted it but it was way too expensive. The Impulse arrives and features a set of drumpads and I’m slyly onto but once again, I’m not sure about the price tag.

Novation SL MKII: £309.99 (Gears4Music.com)

Novation Impulse: £256.42 (Thomann)

The Verdict

The Impulse contains all the features of the SLMKII without the slick metallic styling, blue LEDs, and fancy screen. The Impulse is much less than the SL MKII but contains many of the features of my NI Maschine. £256.42 is still pretty pricy but it seems to fare better than the MKII in the long run because it has the auto map capabilities and the drum pad arpeggio features. Probably best for me to hold out in the hope that it goes down a lil further because this double dip recession is no joke!

K O.

7 thoughts on “Tech #1 – Battle of The Novation 49 Keys: SL MKII or Impulse?

    • I still want the SL MKII but the Impulse is that on steroids. The pads are an instant winner in all honesty because I love me some drums and Arps!

      Have you got a link you can send to your music?

      Like

  1. I’m putting together a short self-released EP at the moment so nothing is online, although want to get Logic as I know it best and Ableton isn’t working brilliant for me at the moment. Any ideas where I can get a copy? On the other hand, check my blog out as you might like some of the tracks there.

    Like

  2. ” …but it seems to fare better than the MKII in the long run because it has the auto map capabilities …” What do you mean? Both have AutoMap and the SL MKII has a dedicated ‘Speed Dial’ which controls anything your mouse is pointed at.

    Like

    • It’s better for my way of working because it’s contains a drum pad triggers which can double up as arp and rolls. The Impulse for me is exactly as it says in the title, it’s for the Impulsive creative whilst the MKII is for the much more seasoned vet. I needed something that was simple enough to get my head around and catered for my needs as someone who was just scratching the surface on automation and external parameter controls.

      Like

Leave a Reply

