Mr. Little Jeans – Valentine/Suburbs (Directed By High5Collective)

I don’t know about you, but when I discover something new to my ears, I get all warm and fluffy inside. I get this overwhelming feeling of euphoria which makes me want to shout about and share this ear candy with the rest of the world. Out of the many ‘new’ songs and sounds I hear, only a few motivate me to stop whatever it is I’m doing at that particular moment and shout about it. I literally stop whatever it is I’m doing and flash straight to the laptop, yes the laptop rather than the iPhone app, to share my latest discovery with you. Fair enough Mr. Little Jeans isn’t exactly a new band but to me, someone who’s only just heard of them, they’re on par with the Boom Clap Bachelors.

Firstly I’d like to point out that ‘Valentine‘ was a song that I heard after watching the video to ‘The Suburbs‘, which was directed by a creative mob, who are making major waves out in the sphere for their high quality conceptual visuals, the High5Collective. Valentine and the overall sound of Mr. Little Jeans is reminiscent of the lush ambient soundscapes comparable to the likes of Goldfrappe and Little Boots, vocally Monica Birkenes has the charm and intrigue of the aforementioned, with hints of Ellie Goulding‘s soft timbres. I really love the sound and her voice…

@MyMrLittleJeans | Facebook

When H5C direct and share videos with their social network -facebook, twitter etc, I always take a peek because I always know I’ll witness something epic! If I’m to be totally honest, a lot of the time the visuals have almost always outweighed the music, but it hasn’t been until now that I’ve seen a partnership flow so organically. I was only five seconds into the video when I fell in live with the song, Suburbs. Upon further research I found that Monica had actually covered an Arcade Fire’s song, but I doubt I’d need to hear the original after falling in love with Birkenes’ rendition almost instantaneously. Perhaps it was the sentiment that matches my current temperament almost absolutely, perhaps there’s something about Monica Birkenes‘ majestic tones weaving its way through such a haunting soundscape. The one thing I’m certain of is that Mr. Little Jeans fits perfectly into my ears, and without sounding mahoooosively cliche, I’d say it’s a match made in heaven…

http://vimeo.com/h5c/littlejeans

Directed By – @H5C | Facebook | Website

Leave a Reply

