Vince Guaraldi – The Great Pumpkin Waltz

Vincent Anthony “Vince” Guaraldi (July 17, 1928 – February 6, 1976) was an Italian American jazz musician and pianist noted for his innovative compositions and arrangements and for composing music for animated adaptations of the Peanuts comic strip.

20110506-022919.jpg

The first time I heard this song, it near enough moved me to tears. I asked the waitress for the name of the song and I remember spending hours going through iTunes trying to find it. I don’t know whether it was the moment it played or the song itself, but it’s a beautiful composition. I really wanted to write something tonight but as I don’t have The Great Pumpkin Waltz on my iPhone, I decided to dedicate a post to one of my favourite songs in the world.

Rest In Peace Vince Guaraldi, 47 years young when you departed but you left behind a composition that will stay with me forever.

K O

Leave a Reply

