iLuv: 80’s Cheesy Music!!! (Video)

If I had a time machine I’d make a b-line for Lisa lisa, and I’d take her home…

If I went to rave and they dropped this, I’d be tearing up the floor! Trust me!!! Big badaman tunage!

This song has been sampled endless times but none beat the original!

This song is special, these guys are supercool!!! There’s even a cheesy saxophone solo and the lead singer sounds like a pretentious twat but I’ve always secretly wanted to sing just like him.

Holding Back the Years” is the 7th track onΒ Simply Red‘sΒ debut studio album Picture Book. The song was a huge success for the group and quickly rose to the top of charts across the world. The single is one of two Simply Red songs (the other being their cover of “If You Don’t Know Me by Now“) to reach number one on theΒ Billboard Hot 100, for the week ending July 12, 1986. It also reached #2 in theΒ UK and was a worldwide hit. It had initially been released in the UK the year before, but only reached #51.

I’ve always loved this song, reminds me of my childhood and a bunch of other things. Mick Hucknall will always be my hero…

Yo! If it were up to me I’d play this on repeat, and singalong all fucking day! The thing about 80s music is that its pretentious cheesy cool!

I had to save the best till last!!!!!!!!!! This is my jammmm!!! I copped it on vinyl from a thrift store a few years ago too ^_^

No song ain’t fucking with this!!! Trust me!!! I actually frrl like I’m round Julie’s, my childminder, back in ’88.

These are all songs which shaped my childhood, they carry a nostalgic and powerful sentiment, instantly conjuring the feel and visions of the past. I find that now I’m grown I can appreciate these songs for the masterpieces that they are.

K O

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

