Up In My Ear: Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix.

Image via Wikipedia

Hailed as one of the greatest electric guitarists of all time, Jimi Hendrix came from the sewer of playing with many a top soul, r&b star, such as Little Richard and Isley Brothers to a chance meeting with a fellow musician, who brought him to London where he formed a band and never looked back. From the point of forming Jimi Hendrix and The Experience, he ascended to the highest altitude. Ever the innovative experimentalist, and often switching band members when he felt a particular sound and way of operating had run its course, I salute sir Hendrix and put him on blast as I often hear my bro listening to him and became intrigued after a few documentries on BBC Four. It’s only natural that I start from the ground up.

This is Hey Joe, its track 3 off the ‘Are You ExperiencedLP and I’ve been rewinding it for the past half an hour, it’s powerful music and i feel that anyone who loves to zone out will like this. Hendrix’s voice floats over the music, bending and moulding itsel like the electric guitar on which he commands, weaving with the vibrato and modulation, unique and worth a listen, not worth but a must listen. The music will have your mind elsewhere, psychedelic is a serious understatement because the grooves are astral.

I was impressed when I came across the Foxy Lady track, as many a reader and friend would know, I love em all foxy…

Enjoy

K O. Golding

2 thoughts on “Up In My Ear: Jimi Hendrix

Leave a Reply

